Podcast Introduction

So I intend to start my own podcast, and this is the introduction I devised.  Tell me what you think.  Too long?  I definitely know it’s not too short.  Too combative?  To be totally honest, I like that aspect.  This is serious business and I’m not going to coddle anyone’s right/left bias.  But that doesn’t mean I’m a centrist either, in respect to the way the term is used to describe someone who combines elements of both parties.  I’m intending to use some variation of this introduction for every show, but just for this first one I want to use the Juan Cole quote.  Obviously, that’s not going to be part of every intro.  Just to be sure, there are some radio programs that give a broad slightly drawn out introduction of what the general gist of the show is, on every show.  One example is the Progressive Commentary Hour starring Gary Null.  Since I obviously won’t start off with many listeners and there will always be new listeners, I think that’s the best road to take.  Input is very much appreciated.

Greetings everyone.  How y’all doin today?  My name is Ephraim Hussain and this is Reflective Commentary.  I want to thank you for listening in to what is the first installment of my show.  To give a short background on what this show will be about, I want to start off by saying that I am one of those people who thinks too much and the things I think about are mostly political in nature.  Often I find myself getting very passionate about certain issues and this show will be my opportunity to air that passion and hopefully for you to respond with just as much if not more in return.  Now I want to be very clear.  I don’t pretend to be non-biased.  I don’t pretend to be impartial.  I don’t pretend to be balanced or fair.  Anyone who tells you they’re being non-biased or impartial or balanced or fair with regard to politics is running a not so clever dog and pony show.  They are being dishonest.  They are trying to pull the wool over your eyes.  That is not the agenda here on Reflective Commentary.  My goal is to try to get as close to the truth as possible on whatever issue I may be discussing.  One of my favorite books that incidentally addresses this very topic is by Professor Henry Giroux of McMaster University in Canada   The book is called “The University In Chains: Confronting the Military-Industrial-Academic Complex”   In it he cites, Professor of Middle East and South Asian history at the University of Michigan Juan Cole,

“The point of teaching a course is to expose students to ideas and arguments that are new to them and to help them think critically about controversial issues.  Nothing pleases teachers more than to see students craft their own, original arguments, based on solid evidence, that dispute the point of view presented in class lectures…..University teaching is not about fairness, and there is nobody capable of imposing “fair” views on teachers.  It is about provoking students to think analytically and synthetically, and to reason on their own.  In the assigned texts, in class discussion, and in lectures, the students are exposed to a wide range of views, whether fair or unfair.” (as cited in Giroux 2007)

The same principles that Juan Cole explains must apply to any sensible university classroom apply here.  I refuse to subject myself to a political litmus test for the purpose of staying balanced or fair.  First of all it would be wrong and a deep disservice to all you listeners, secondly it would be impossible to do so while simultaneously attempting to pursue the truth, and thirdly we have what’s called the mainstream media which already does an impeccable job pretending to be fair and balanced.  You don’t need me to give you what they present on a silver platter.  Now that you know where I’m coming from, let’s begin with today’s topic…………..

Works Cited

Giroux, H. (2007). The University In Chains: Confronting the Military-Industrial-Academic Complex. Boulder, Colorado: Paradigm Publishers.

I write to dialogue. So please, let's engage each other in some dialogue.

