Blogging is Not a Fast Food Drive-Thru

So stop treating it like one!

Why does wordpress allow people to like posts from their reader?  If it’s possible to change this, please someone feel free to let me know  It just encourages people to blaze through their reader hitting the like button for posts whose titles they thought were interesting without actually taking the time to thoughtfully read and perhaps, oh I don’t know comment, and start a thought provoking discussion on mutual topics of interest.

Honestly, I do not enjoy seeing my posts being liked, but not seeing a corresponding a page view in my Stats.  And this is not about my ego.  It has nothing to do with clamoring for more page views.  When I read other blogs, and when I write my blog I am searching for discussion and conversation.  Not only that, I am searching for new ideas and viewpoints to consider adding or altering to my own.  Or maybe I am just searching for an enjoying piece of writing.  Any which way, I am not just scrolling through titles looking for ones to like and can not think of a reason why anyone would.  A like made in passing is akin to giving half your attention to someone whose trying to speak to you.  Its inconsiderate, and it doesn’t make any sense.  Do not bother to like the post if you are not going to take the time to read it.

Sorry for the venting.  I just had to vent.  I welcome all opinions, including opposing ones.  🙂

8 thoughts on “Blogging is Not a Fast Food Drive-Thru

  1. This is the second blog I’ve seen to say that.
    It sounds like this is becoming similar to Twitter, where people only try to get tons of followers and nothing else. I’m new to this and still trying to figure out how this works but I do read the entire posts.

  2. I can’t imagine “liking” something if I didn’t read it, give it some thought, entertain the thought of commenting or actually commenting. In fact, I read a post yesterday that is still sticking in my craw, whatever a craw is, and I wish I could find it again to not like, but comment. I’m new to this, and have a few likes, but many more page views, so I assume people are actually reading the garbage spilling out of my head. “liking” is sooooo facebook, anyway, isn’t it?

  3. I agree, I value the comments and want the dialogue to enhance my ability to think through subjects I write about. I also want people to differ with me and say it openly and then allow me to open a discussion about it. I have to say, Reflective Thinking, you have liked several of my posts, so I know you read them from your post…….but what do you think of them? Am I a shallow writer with decent ideas or am I decent writer with shallow ideas? I want to know what you think also. I agree, it is not about ego, it is about seeing other perspectives and reading how others convey their thoughts on a topic that is of interest to both parties.

I write to dialogue. So please, let's engage each other in some dialogue.

