Inside School: A Student’s point of view

This is my first post from inside class.  Yes I knoooow, I should probably be paying attention but honestly it makes no difference and as far I am concerned this is a more productive use of my time.  Looking at all my classmates, I honestly think all of them are just pretending to pay attention, but today I prefer not to stare into blank space (even though that is what I usually do).  Well, you may be asking what class could possibly be so boring?  It’s organic chemistry II.  Anyone who’s taken this class, you know what I’m talkin about.  Today we’re learning about amino acid synthesis- a riveting topic- ya know the 4-methylpentanoic acid combined with the 2-bromo-4-methyl pentanoic acid makes the (R,S)- Leucine, and whatever the heck else feels so unapplicable to my life.  Don’t get me wrong.  I can understand it and imagine I will when I go home and look at the textbook, but the point is I’m just studying it to do reasonably well on the final.  Then I will forget it as will everyone other of my colleagues sitting mindlessly in this classroom.  Is that learning, I ask you??????  It’s something for sure.  It’s a tragedy.  It’s a national tragedy.  At least the teacher is able to make exceptional use of his smartboard-that’s technology in the classrooms hard at work–making us students supersmartererer.  Honestly I wish microsoft powerpoint was never invented.  Before this period, I suffereed through a class called Core 300- Journey to Selfhood.  The college requires requires us to take these core classes which honestly would be great if they were taught in a better way.  But the class has nothing to do with discovering anything about yourself.  It’s an english class that masquerades with the name- Journey to Selfhood.  Today we watched King Lear, utterly incomprehensible-and its funny how the teacher goes on lecturing like we actually know what the heck is going on in the movie.  Meanwhile you have students doing math homework, others studying for nursing, others whispering about how absurd the fact we’re we watching this movie is.  And my teacher sits there watching it snickering and laughing at what I assume is every comedic line, and I’m sitting there like what the heck is so funny?????  This is college, mind you not high school.  I used to think teachers thought they had a license to be lazy back in high school, but apparently nothing changes in college.  Well that’s a report from inside the classroom of Felician College.  Remember.  STUDENTS FIRST.  Or at least that’s their slogan.

I write to dialogue. So please, let's engage each other in some dialogue.

