The Ultimate Form of Anti-Learning

School is supposed to be a place where students learn things, or so that is what they want us to believe.  I have come across various forms of anti-learning over my many years of languishing in a classroom, but probably none is more egregious and plainly obvious than the take home multiple choice test.  Both students and teachers love it.  Honestly what is not to like?  Students get to take the test on their own time, and are afforded the luxury of using their notes and the textbook and other students  And unless you reeeeeeeally do not care, it’s an easy “A” or “B”.  And the teacher gets the best of both worlds, having to put barely any effort into making the test or even teaching the material for that matter, but still getting the desired positive results.  Despite these obvious advantages, the disadvantages have far greater implications.  Let us examine

1. HUUUUGE Waste of my time….  Now bar the fact that school, is, in general a huge waste of time anyway for a number of reasons which I hope to discuss in later posts…..but this just makes it a thousand times worse.  It took me three hours to do 100 multiple choice cell biology test,  all the while flipping through a thousand page textbook searching for that needle in a haystack answer and never mind that my teacher sees fit to go in no particular order in terms of chapters.  And you get six of these during the year.  That is eighteen hours that could have been spent much more wisely.  Honestly, I rather just try my luck at studying and taking a much shorter test in class.  Why do I even have to go to class.  Just give me tests, the textbook, photocopy your notes and I will see you when I’m done.

2. When do we get to the learning part or is that huge sign in front of the college that says “Students First” just a bunch of ********?  Because if you really did put students first, then you wouldn’t make us go through this **********.  How does flipping through a textbook and circling A, B,C, or D constitute learning?  Yes teacher….I can roll over and play fetch…now give me that bone  (o.k.a.  my “A”) and let me do the honors of validating your laziness.  What that sign should really say is “We don’t give a **** about you but you gotta be here anyway.”  The system makes us spend the first quarter of our life in a succession of so-called “higher learning” institutions when all that we are really learning is how to mindlessly take standardized tests.  Is the real world a successions of standardized tests?  Will my real future job involve the circling of “A”  “B”  “C”   or “D”.  This is the ****** reason my family is paying tens of thousands of dollars in tuition costs?  This is the ***** reason that families have to be buried under piles of student debt?  School does not prepare you for life outside school.  It is a separate world unto itself.  It fails to make any standard for common sense in terms of the requirements necessary to operate an “institution of higher learning.”

I hearken back to the wise words of one educational philospher, John Dewey to explain my rant.

“In critical moments we all realize that the only discipline that stands by us, the only training that becomes intuition, is that got through life itself.  That we learn from experience, and from books or the sayings of others only as they are related to experience, are not mere phrases.

“But the school has been so set apart, so isolated from the ordinary conditions and motives of life, that the place where children are sent for discipline is the one place in the world where it is most difficult to get experience– the mother of all discipline worth the name.”

 “Verbal memory can be trained in committing tasks, a certain discipline of the reasoning powers can be acquired through lessons in science and mathematics; but, after all, this is somewhat remote and shadowy compared with the training of attention and judgement that is acquired with having to do things with a real motive behind and a real outcome ahead.”
Frankly I could not have said it any better myself.

Sorry, just felt like venting…..I promise to be more constructive next time.

4 thoughts on “The Ultimate Form of Anti-Learning

  1. one of the best posts ever! Very true! But as a student in high school, easy A’s are what I need! But most of teachers don’t teach anyway. My anatomy teacher just gives us worksheets in which we self teach ourselves. It’s all a gimmick.

    • and trust me the gimmick doesn’t end in college. I have had two teachers who I though were good and the rest awful. so much curving necessary just to get you a “B” in some science classes, it’s unbelievable. and you never retain any information.

  2. Pingback: Your anti-learning experiences: Be part of a discussion « The Ruminations of a college student

  3. Pingback: We Students Need A Unified And Thoughtful Voice In Our Educational Lives | Reflective Thinking

I write to dialogue. So please, let's engage each other in some dialogue.

